summer’s almost gone

1 03 2009

“Morning found us calmly unaware.
Noon burn gold into our hair.
At night, we swim the laughin’ sea.
When summer’s gone
Where will we be?” – Jim Morrison, The Doors

This post will serve as a recap of my most important recent history, to bring us all up to date with the Now.

Two and a half months ago, December 20, 2008, my ever-wonderful parents picked me up from Ithaca College, where I had studied philosophy for the past year and a half. That day, I was not wearing glasses. Since then, I have worn no contacts (except for one day of snowboarding, in which I separated my AC Joint in my shoulder [type 2 out of 6, sling for a week, I’m climbing trees fine now]) and I only wear glasses for first meetings, movies, and any other times where 20/20 eyesight is completely necessary. I have been practicing The Bates Method in order to correct my near-sightedness. This is an entirely natural and scientific way to relax and breathe and allow the eyes to return to their natural state of clear vision. A friend of mine has done this successfully, and I have been seeing with much improvement since I started.

Since December 2008, I have also shifted my diet to a more balanced, healthy, earth-friendly, trustable diet: fruits, nuts, vegetables, grains and wine. I rarely eat meat or dairy products, save for some cake and pastries, which contain love, and canot possibly be bad in moderation. I also ate three bights of kangaroo the other day. If my body still liked meat, it would find kangaroo to be great, similar to steak. However, I found it too full and gruxable [made-up word. listen to the sound for the meaning]. I did not enjoy it. So I fasted for a day immediately after. My body enjoyed that one-day cleanse. My constantly-balanced and level feeling body appreciates my diet, my taste buds are as happy as ever,  and my creativity is expanding as I create new ways of eating great food (fruit salads and nut mixes are always wonderful treats).

On Friday, February 13, 2009, I left America. Very early Valentine’s Day morning, I was somewhere between Hawaii and Fiji. I fell asleep on that plane. When I woke up, I was over Australia, and Valentine’s Day was gone. Australia’s east coast is 16 hours ahead of America’s east coast (My 1:30 Sunday afternoon is Boston’s 9:30 Saturday night), so I basically flew over February 14. That’s alright, I met a nice girl on the plane. The magical, identified flying object also brought me from Winter into Summer (you can call it supernatural/miraculous sleight of hemisphere).

So now, my summer’s almost gone, and tomorrow, Monday, I start classes. This winter/summer break has been great! I have read a lot, including Les Miserables, Dante’s Divine Comedy (Inferno, Purgatorio, Paradiso), portions of the Torah, Mutant Message Down Under, and if I had to recommend one book from my whole break, it would be Kurt Vonnegut’s God Bless You Mr. Rosewater. I’ve seen some great movies, including Slumdog Millionaire, The Wrestler (not as good as The Fountain), Pineapple Express (not as good as Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back), Perfume (as good as the previous post explains), and if I had to recommend only one movie I’ve seen recently, it would be Martin Scorsese’s The Last Temptation of Christ. I’m not even going to mention the amazing music I’ve been grooving to (more Marley, Jeff Buckley, Elton John, Jeff Beck, Ani DiFranco, Gang Starr, The Boss’ new album Working On A Dream is one of the best 60’s albums ever, CSNY, Deltron 3030, Weather Report, and oodles of classical and some opera). Oops. I mentioned it. I have learned about healing, magic and mysticism. And as if the mind wasn’t enough, I’ve had amazing times with amazing friends. Back in America, good times with hookahs, woods, Wilber Schools, rooftops, restaurants, apartments, garages, schools, cars, Maine, cemeteries, and freedom. Here in Australia, I’m now in a house one minute from campus with 23 other international and/or mature age students. Ran, from China, has been teaching me Tai Chi to center my energy, or force, as he calls it. Cali, from Virginia and Colorado, has helped acquaint me to Bendigo, and has introduced me to Australia’s fantastic shiraz and New Zealand’s amazing sauvignon blanc. Paul, my 27-year-old housemate, has informed me that Tasmania makes the best Vodka, and an Australian informed me Tasmania has some of the best natural water in the world. (Always rememebering the key to balance and happiness: moderation)

Tomorrow, I begin a new path of knowledge, the reason I have come to La Trobe University in Bendigo, Australia: to learn about nature. I’ll write new posts as I experience the classes, and you can be sure I’ll write posts as I experience trips. The Outdoor Education program here is world-renowned. I will have classes Monday-Wednesday and trips Thursday-Sunday, or however long the trips last. I must re-express my eternal gratitude for you who have brought me to where and who I am today. Toda raba, Thanks a million, it’s gonna be great, life’s a beautiful place, and all is as well as a fire in hell. (I used that metaphor for the sake of rhyme… and also because ya’ll oughta read William Blake’s The Marriage of Heaven and Hell and have some Sympathy for the Devil.) We’re all riding in the same boat now. JAH!

Actions

Information

How are you?

