quotes on the edge of knowl

2 02 2010

(knowl-edge)

i just finished The Razor’s Edge by Somerset Maugham. It was summer reading from high school, 3 or 4 years ago. Visiting high school, my teacher recommended it to me for my current situation. I find “recommendations” much more inviting than “assignments”.

It’s also funny hearing some one (still in high school) say “Oh, you’re a graduate”. It’s like hearing “you’re from the ‘after-time’.”

High school is a magnification of how surreal our culture is.

So here’s some words from The Razor’s Edge i  really dig.

  • when a monk stays awake all night on a train, and appearing perfectly energized in the morning, he says “By meditation on the formless one, I found rest in the Absolute.”
  • (lines from a poem by Landor (?)):
    I strove with none, for none was worth my strife.
    Nature I loved, and, next to Nature, Art;
    I warmed both hands before the fire of Life;
    It stinks, and I am ready to depart.”
    (not my particular outlook, but well spoken… i would change the last line to “It’s fresh, and I am ready to depart”, but that changes everything, and everything’s perfect as it is, so let it be).
  • “Brahma, the Creator; Vishnu, the Preserver; and Siva, the Destroyer. The three manifestations of the Ultimate Reality.”

may peace permeate your path.

Actions

Information

How are you?

