day off

9 08 2010

Sunday, I walked through the woods of New York for 4 hours. I made some phone calls, made an alter from bark and rocks and acorns and twigs, and had a nice meditation, including the smoking of the Tobacco of Appreciation. At one point, I said aloud, “Thank You”, and a gust of wind surged up and patted me on the back. If we appreciate the elements, the elements will treat us kindly. If we take them for granted and abuse them, the elements will not treat us so kind.
Later, I met a mole! They’re blind. Super cute, too. Look like this:

The internet is very slow here. No downloading or youtube. Reading’s fun. So is playing guitar for the villagers, oooooh they sure do love it. They sure do speak their minds, too. Many of them are clairvoyant; they know feelings… they KNOW, and not just their own. Real enlightening, acknowledging such powerful awareness.

After dinner tonight, our house, and some neighbors from next door, had a circle outside. Stephen read the first two chapters of Winnie the Pooh. Then I played guitar, making music for some of the songs Winnie wrote.  Like

How Sweet to be a Cloud
Floating in the Blue!
Every little cloud
Always sings aloud.

How Sweet to be a Cloud
Floating in the Blue!
It makes him very proud
To be a little cloud.

My mom took some pictures of Camphill when her and my dad dropped me off last Sunday. Here’s a link to ’em: http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=258688&id=684348134

I feel I’ve written a good deal about Camphill so far, enough for ya’ll to grok what I’m living with now. Soon, there’ll be a blog post about Saturday’s bible supper and Sunday morning’s Service of Offering, and what Christ means to me 🙂

If you have any questions about anything you’d like to ask me, write me at DanAHalpern@gmail.com and I’ll write you back, or write back on this here blog.

walk in peace
peace be the journey

walk in peace be the journey

Actions

Information

How are you?

